Dare to make a change

600_463612447
Kayaking with a group of people I’ve never met. I loved it.

I am so pleased with what’s happening in my life right now – and I can’t remember the last time I thought that. My life, like many I imagine, has been harried, rote, glum and unsatisfying and I had guessed/judged that nothing would change. But I took a leap in faith and quit my job last April to take an adventure (that didn’t really pan out the way I had intended) and now I’ve had the time to invest in ME. I’ve been trying to create a social network – which, prior to this time in my life, I didn’t have the energy, patience or even genuine interest. I have been checking out MeetUp groups in my area to find people with similar interests and I also reunited with a small circle of friends. I now look forward to each day because I either have someone to do something with or I alternate my plans around doing things solo or working around my house. With each attempt to meet new people, my circle widens with opportunities and then I am infused with more energy. I will eventually have to return to ‘work’ but I hope that my new found realization that life does not have to be a drudgery that has to be tolerated until I fall over dead will help me find enjoyable work – or at least, more tolerable work with some exciting days off spent doing things that are fun, interesting and with people who I enjoy and who inspire me.

SoCS: guess

2 thoughts on “Dare to make a change

Leave a Reply

